Free AI Architectural Rendering: What You Get, According to the Vendors (and What It Costs After)

By MNKI Team · Published · Updated

Free AI Architectural Rendering: What You Get, According to the Vendors (and What It Costs After)

Quick answer: Most "free" AI architectural rendering offers are a starter allowance or a restricted plan rather than unrestricted use: a fixed number of credits or renders, sometimes with a watermark or lower resolution. MNKI's free plan gives 40 trial credits with no watermark, which covers 10 renders on its faster engine or six 2K renders on its higher-quality engine. Other tools range from 1 free render to 100 free credits, a time-limited trial, or a restricted free plan (Gendo, Vizcom). Below is what each vendor says it gives away, what to check before relying on it, and how far MNKI's 40 credits go.

Disclosure: MNKI publishes this article and is one of the tools covered, so we have a commercial interest. Competitor facts come from each vendor's own public pages (linked below), checked September 29, 2026. We say "not stated" when a page does not say. We have not hands-on tested any of these free tiers, and offers change often, so confirm on the vendor's site.

What MNKI's free plan includes

From MNKI's pricing page:

  • 40 trial credits to start, then pay-as-you-go top-ups (no monthly subscription required). Top-ups are 150 credits for 10.00 USD, and MNKI's FAQ says top-up credits do not expire and work on any plan, including Free.
  • No watermarks and unlimited projects. MNKI's pricing page lists output up to 4K on the Free plan.
  • Retention: projects on the Free plan are kept for 90 days, after which the full project is automatically deleted. Download what you need.
  • Credit costs: a standard render on the faster MNF engine costs 4 credits; a 2K render on the higher-quality MNG engine costs 6; a 4K render on MNG costs 8.
  • Collaboration: on Free you can join MNKIspace workspaces as a member but cannot create one.
  • Two free apps beyond rendering: the MNKI 3D Sandbox and MNKICanvas (Beta) are included in the Free plan, per MNKI's pricing page.

The two free apps: 3D Sandbox and MNKICanvas

  • MNKI 3D Sandbox is a 3D builder (built on the open-source Pascal editor, per MNKI): draw walls, place doors and furniture, and walk through your design. Its Present tools include a sun study and view capture, and it exports DXF and PDF drawings from the toolbar (you choose which levels and section cuts to include). Its interface is available in English only.
  • MNKICanvas (Beta) is a built-in drawing tool with brush, pen, eraser, line and shape tools, text and crop, a layer system, up to 50 undo steps, grid and snap-to-grid, and export to PNG (with a transparent-background option) or JPEG. You can send a drawing straight to the Studio or to AChAt for rendering.

We have not benchmarked either app against other software, and MNKI's pages do not spell out any usage limits for them, so check the apps for limits.

What 40 credits buy

How you spend themRenders
Faster engine (MNF), 4 credits each10 renders
Higher-quality engine at 2K (MNG), 6 credits each6 renders (36 credits)
Higher-quality engine at 4K (MNG), 8 credits each5 renders

Practical tip: explore with the faster engine, choose one or two directions, and spend the remaining credits on higher-quality versions. MNKI's tutorial suggests changing only one setting per refine pass. Our sketch-to-render guide explains the settings.

What the free plan does not include

Be realistic about limits: there are no recurring free credits (the Free plan lists 0 monthly credits), so after the 40 trial credits you need top-ups or a paid plan; batch processing and MNKIpresent are on Pro; and the free plan does not create team workspaces. Paid plans start at 28.99 USD per month for 500 credits (Basic), and 148.99 USD per month for 3,000 credits (Pro). Check the pricing page for the current table.

What other tools say they give away

ToolFree offer (vendor's wording, paraphrased)Things the vendor did not state
mnml.ai100 free credits on sign-up, no card required, credits do not expire; no time-limited trialWhether free output is watermarked
ArchiVinci3 free renders, stated as watermark-free and usable commerciallyWhether a card is required
GendoFree plan with unlimited generations, one project canvas, watermarked exports at 1k, limited history, no upscalingCommercial licence is not included per its comparison table
MyArchitectAI10 free rendersWatermark and card requirement
Rendair20 free chat credits on sign-upWatermark and card requirement
Veras30 renders and a 15-day trialWatermark and card requirement
Archmaster1 free render on sign-in, no cardWhether free output is watermarked
ArchsynthNo free tier stated; a 3-day trial link applies to a student planTrial terms
Vizcom (product-design focus)Free Starter plan: 800 credits per month, no card, per its FAQWatermark; free-user images may be used to improve the service, per its FAQ

Note the different shapes: credits that do not expire (mnml.ai), a fixed number of renders (ArchiVinci, MyArchitectAI, Archmaster), a time-limited trial (Veras) and a free plan with restrictions (Gendo, Vizcom). A larger number is not automatically better value, because tools charge different credit amounts per action.

What to check before you rely on a free tier

  1. Watermark. Will the output be usable in a client presentation?
  2. Resolution. Is the free export high enough for your purpose? Gendo's free exports are 1k, for example.
  3. Commercial use. Read the licence. Some vendors restrict commercial use to paid plans (Rendair's FAQ states its commercial licence is on Pro and Team Pro).
  4. Expiry and retention. Do credits expire, and are your projects deleted? MNKI's free projects are kept for 90 days.
  5. Data use. Does the vendor use your uploads to train models? Vendors' statements differ, so read each privacy policy; for MNKI, read the privacy policy.
  6. Card and cancellation. Does the trial need a card, and does it convert automatically?

Is free enough for professional work?

For testing and occasional concept images, yes, provided the watermark, resolution and licence fit. For regular client work, plan on a paid tier or top-ups, because iteration uses credits quickly. If you are comparing paid plans, see Best AI architectural rendering tools for 2026, and for how each plan structures credits see how MNKI works.

FAQ

Is there a free AI tool for architectural rendering?

Yes, in the sense of free starter allowances. MNKI gives 40 trial credits, mnml.ai 100 credits, ArchiVinci 3 renders, MyArchitectAI 10 renders, Rendair 20 chat credits and Veras 30 renders and a 15-day trial (vendor wording). None of these is unlimited, and terms differ.

Does MNKI's free plan add a watermark?

No. MNKI's pricing page states that all plans, including Free, have no watermarks.

How many renders can I make with MNKI's free credits?

40 credits give 10 renders on the faster engine (4 credits each), six 2K renders on the higher-quality engine (6 credits each) or five 4K renders (8 credits each).

Do MNKI's free credits expire?

MNKI's pages do not state whether the 40 trial credits expire. Top-up credits you buy do not expire, per MNKI's FAQ. Free-plan projects are kept for 90 days.

Can I use free renders commercially?

Check each vendor's terms. Vendors differ: ArchiVinci states its free renders are usable commercially, while Gendo's free plan does not include a commercial licence per its comparison table. Read MNKI's terms as well.

Sources